EEOC Confirms a New Chair

Posted by Liz Balconi, PHR, SHRM-CP, M.A., Managing Consultant on May 10 2019

EEOC Names ChairThis week, after a nearly two-year wait, the U.S. Senate confirmed Janet Dhillon as EEOC Chair. Her confirmation finally gives the EEOC governing body a quorum—but there are still two open seats. Dhillon joins Democrat Charlotte Burrows, whose term ends on July 1, 2019, and Republican Acting Chair Victoria Lipnic, a Republican whose term ends on July 1, 2020.

Employers have been asking for clarity from the EEOC after a ruling reinstating the “Component 2” pay data collection in March. With three of the five seats filled, the Commissioners now have a quorum and can provide guidance to employers.

EEOC is providing updates every three weeks on progress toward complying with collecting the Component 2 data, and they expect to be able to begin accepting compensation data in mid-July. The March ruling was appealed by the Department of Justice, but employers should begin preparations to collect data for Component 2 for the 2017 and 2018 reporting cycles.

Tags: Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, EEOC News